Nevada is one of the states in the union that offers a large range of golf courses and outdoor green areas. These areas can be fun to explore while riding around on a golf cart or any other type of low-speed method of transportation. Golf carts are becoming quite popular not only in Nevada but in other states where the weather is favorable. That being said, it is important to know what is and is not allowed under Nevada law before you take a golf cart out for a joyride. This is particularly true if you are involved in a collision in Nevada with a golf cart. Below is some basic information on this trending topic.
State Law and Federal Laws
Both Nevada state law as well as federal law governs the operation of golf carts and other slow-speed vehicles that are unable to reach speeds beyond 20 miles per hour. Of note, if you own a golf cart that was designed and manufactured so that it can reach speeds in excess of 20 miles per hour, it will be classified as a motor vehicle and not simply a golf cart. This classification is important because federal law mandates that motor vehicles have specific safety equipment. This includes rear-view mirrors, parking brakes, seatbelts, windshields, headlights, turn signals, and brake lights. Moreover, local laws, such as county or municipal, can designate particular roads where golf carts are permitted to be driven legally.
Nevada Golf Cart Requirements
The state of Nevada does not automatically require that golf carts be registered with its local and/or state authorities. Nonetheless, if the county in which the golf cart is located has 700,000 or more residents, the owner must obtain a Nevada golf cart permit in order to operate the vehicle. Beyond this, Nevada golf cart owners are required to have their vehicles inspected at an official Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (NDMV) VIN inspection station. At the inspection, the golf cart owner must present valid evidence of insurance. Moreover, counties with a population of 700,000 or more also require golf cart owners to purchase liability insurance coverage of at least $20,000 in property damage and at least $25,000 in bodily injury coverage. In addition to requiring safety features on golf carts such as headlights and tail lights, reflectors, stop lights, brakes, and mirrors, the vehicle must also have an emblem or placard declaring it to be a low-speed vehicle.
Legal Help in Nevada
An accident with a golf cart can still result in significant injuries for the victims involved, even if it can only go at low-speeds. This is particularly true if the golf cart collides with a larger, heavier, passenger vehicle. If you or someone you know has been injured in Nevada, whether or not a golf cart or other low-speed vehicle was involved, contact the personal injury attorneys at Parry & Pfau. We have fought for the rights of victims across Nevada and will seek the monetary compensation to which you are entitled.
(image courtesy of Kenan Kitchen)