Nevada state law requires that all drivers carry automobile insurance coverage to hedge the costs that may result from a collision. Although carrying automobile insurance is a state requirement, many drivers fail and refuse to purchase this insurance coverage. In fact, the Insurance Research Council reports that about 10% of Nevada drivers do not carry any car insurance coverage. This number does not account for those drivers who have car insurance, but purchased too little coverage. If you are involved in a Las Vegas car accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, know that some of the costs associated with the collision will fall on you even if you were not at fault.
Every state in the nation has its own requirements for the minimum amount of coverage all drivers must carry. A person who fails to carry any automobile insurance coverage at all is violating state law each and every time he or she gets behind the wheel. Penalties can include monetary fines and drivers’ license suspension. Drivers who are underinsured, however, are following the law exactly, but the bare minimum coverage is not enough to cover the costs of an accident. Presently, the state of Nevada requires the following liability insurance coverage:
Minimum of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of one person in any one accident;
Minimum of $50,000 for bodily injury or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and
Minimum of $20,000 for destruction or injury of property of others in any one accident.
How This Affects You
If you are involved in an accident with an underinsured or uninsured driver in Nevada, going after monetary compensation for harm suffered can get complicated. If you find yourself in such a scenario, it is best to speak with a skilled personal injury attorney. This is because the expenses associated with a serious car accident can add up quickly. These may include:
Home care expenses
Lost past and future wages
Car repairs or replacement costs
Pain and suffering
Sometimes even if the at-fault driver has more than the minimum amount of insurance coverage on his or her vehicle, it is possible that it will be difficult to recover enough money to cover all of the expenses associated with the crash. This is because insurance companies are for-profit businesses that will try to pay the least amount possible under the law.
Penalties for No Coverage
Because it is against state law to drive without proper car insurance coverage, any violation is considered a misdemeanor offense. Depending on how many days you have driven without car insurance coverage, the monetary penalties can range from $250 to $1,000. You may also have to deal with license suspension, which can cost between $250 and $750 to reinstate. Simply put, it is much easier to drive with car insurance coverage in Nevada than to risk facing the penalties and tarnish your driving record.
If you have more questions about Nevada’s laws, or have been hurt in an accident, contact the skilled personal injury attorneys at Parry & Pfau.
(image courtesy of Clem Onojeghuo)