It is common knowledge that the federally-mandated legal drinking age across the United States is 21 years. That being said, there are numerous laws governing liquor and alcoholic beverages in Nevada that are different that those in other parts of the country. In fact, those who are newly arrived to Nevada may see that its laws are much more relaxed than other states. Notably, the state of Nevada does not have any mandatory closing hours or days for businesses that serve alcoholic beverages; the same is true for those establishments that sell liquor. Simply put, someone can buy alcohol 24 hours a day, seven days a week from any business that is licensed to do so in the state of Nevada.
Other Ways Nevada Differs
Another benefit of Nevada liquor laws is that they prohibit city or county ordinances from making public intoxication illegal, as it is not per state law. That being said, there are exceptions to this rule. One example is that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Likewise, when intoxication is part of the commission of a crime, it is also deemed illegal.
While the federal government has set several laws that govern the sale, purchase, ownership, and consumption of alcoholic beverages, laws concerning public use of alcohol is generally left up to the states. For this reason, there are several important Nevada liquor laws, some of which include:
Making it illegal for parents or other adults to provide or allow minors - those under 21 years of age - alcoholic beverages;
Some Nevada cities make it illegal to provide alcohol to a person who is already intoxicated;
Minors are not allowed in stand-alone bars, taverns, or saloons where the primary business is alcohol service, and IDs are required from everyone who wants to enter such establishments;
The maximum legal blood alcohol limit is 0.08 for all drivers over the age of 21, but minors caught with a blood alcohol content between 0.02 and 0.08 will have their license or driver’s permit suspended for 90 days;
Possessing a fake ID showing the person is 21 years of age or older is a misdemeanor and providing a fake ID to another - no matter their age - is a gross misdemeanor.
If you or someone you know is planning on visiting the state of Nevada or has recently moved here, it is important that you are familiar with its laws governing the consumption, possession, and sale of alcoholic beverages. Moreover, if you will visit multiple states during your trip, be sure to become familiar with governing laws in other states as they may vastly differ from those in Nevada. The last thing you want on a vacation is to accidentally commit a criminal offense such as transporting alcohol over state lines.
Nevada Legal Help
If you or someone you know has questions about Nevada’s liquor laws, or has suffered an injury in the state involving alcoholic beverages, be sure to contact the experienced Las Vegas personal injury attorneys at Parry & Pfau. Contact us today to schedule your free initial case evaluation.
(image courtesy of Alex Iby)