A stun gun, commonly referred to as a taser, is basically any device that is designed to temporarily or permanently disable a person or animal by way of an electrical charge or current that is discharged at the target. Is it legal to carry a taser in Nevada? Like many answers to a legal question, it depends.
The state of Nevada generally allows most people to purchase and possess, whether openly or concealed, a non-lethal stun gun for his or her self-defense without the need to obtain a permit. There are exceptions, however. The following individuals are prohibited by Nevada law to buy, own, or use a stun gun:
Illegally or unlawfully immigrants in the U.S.;
An individual who has been adjudicated as mentally ill; and
An individual who has been committed to any mental health facility.
In addition to the above restrictions, it is also illegal to sell, give, or provide a taser to any of the individuals listed above if you know about the individual’s past. Officers of the Peace are exempt from the law’s limitation on tasers.
Nevada also prohibits a minor’s possession of a taser. Specifically, a person under the age of 18 may not possess a stun gun and it is illegal for an adult to sell or provide a minor with one. If a minor is found in possession of a taser, he or she may be detained as if an adult felon.
Penalties for Violating Nevada Law
Nevada law prohibits the use of a taser on another individual for any purpose other than self-defense. The state feels so strong about this that it makes the act a category B felony. A person convicted of using a taser for purposes other than self-defense may incur a monetary fine of up to $5,000.00 and face between one and six years in prison, or both.
It is also a category B felony for a convicted felon or fugitive from the law to possess a taser. A conviction for this crime carries the same potential monetary penalties and imprisonment as the above category B felony.
A person who has been committed to any mental health facility, has been adjudicated as mentally ill, or is unlawfully or illegally in the United States and is found to possess a taser will be charged with a category D felony. A person convicted of this crime may incur a monetary fine of up to $5,000.00 and face between one and four years in prison, or both.
Likewise, someone who sells, gives, or provides a taser to an individual who cannot legally possess one under Nevada law can be charged with a category D felony. A conviction for this crime carries the same potential monetary penalties and imprisonment as the above category D felony.
Legal Help in Nevada
In summary, it is legal to have a taser in Nevada but not if you fall into one of the exceptions to this rule. Moreover, if you use a taser for any other purpose than self-defense you are breaking the law. If you have more questions about this, or any other area of the law, contact the experienced Nevada attorneys at Parry & Pfau by clicking here today.
(image courtesy of Johannes Plenio)