Starting in 2018, a Nevada law goes into effect that further regulates child care training. Specifically, Nevada law will now require daycare workers undergo more training in health and safety. For existing caregivers, or those who have been employed in the childcare field for more than 120 days, the additional training must be completed in accordance with the host facility’s annual licensure date.
Additional training includes administration of medication, building safety, transportations, emergency preparedness, and shaken baby. These additional initial training hours, which must be completed within 120 days of hire, can be applied toward the employee’s required 24-hour annual training hours. Other changes include mandating childcare facilities to complete 24 hours of training every year. The law also makes annual inspections more thorough.
Other Changes in Nevada’s Child Care Law
Details of additional changes to Nevada’s child care law are listed below:
Standards on group sizes and child to caregiver ratio are expanded;
Allows for the utilization of all usable space in the room, including allowing multiple groups to be inside the same room;
Allows for the issuance of fines -- imposed by email or mail -- for violations, late applications, and substantiated complaints by the public;
Changes the minimum time that a director must be present at a childcare facility;
Mandates child care facilities to provide their licensing records to other government agencies; and
Requires negative TB tests for all residents of a group or family care program, results of which must be on file before a new resident is in the home;
Tables must be washed and disinfected both before and after snacks or meals are consumed by the children; and
Meals and snacks provided by the child care facility must meet USDA’s nutritional standards.
Other notable changes includes Nevada’s mandate that within 24 hours of a child’s injury or an accident a written report is completed and maintained in that child’s file and a copy of the report is provided to the child’s parent(s). Similarly, any child injury that requires emergency medical treatment must be reported to the state’s licensing department within 48 hours of the incident.
Child Care Personal Injuries
A personal injury can be devastating. This is even more true when the victim is a child and the injury was caused by the negligence of another. If your child is injured, the types of issues leading to an injury -- or, unfortunately, death -- include:
Failure to address a special needs child’s needs;
Dangerous conditions at the facility;
Falls from playground equipment or furniture;
Assault by other children or daycare staff; or
Injuries as a result of inadequate supervision.
Accidents happen every day, and Nevada child care facilities are no exception. If your child or the child of a loved one has been involved in a Nevada child care facility-related accident, be sure consult Parry & Pfau as soon as possible. These experienced Nevada personal injury attorneys can help you seek the monetary compensation to which you may be entitled. Click here today to schedule your initial case evaluation.
(image courtesy of Aaron Burden)