Nevada is no stranger to car accidents. When living or visiting the state, no matter if you prefer the great outdoors or the casino hall, you will likely need to use a vehicle to get to a destination. Unfortunately, car accidents are just as much a part of life in Nevada as they are anywhere else in the country.
What to Do if You are in a Nevada Car Accident
If the Nevada car accident you are involved in causes injuries, or if it only causes property damage, state law requires that you immediately stop at the scene of the accident and provide reasonable assistance to any injured party. Once it is confirmed that everyone involved is safe, all drivers should exchange personal information. It is also important to obtain the names and contact information of any witnesses to the accident, as well as document road and weather conditions, and take any photos of the cars involved. If no law enforcement has arrived or is involved, the crash must be reported to the nearest office of the Nevada Highway patrol or the nearest police station. If the car accident was not investigated by law enforcement and the accident caused injuries, property damage over $750, or death, an accident report must be filed within 10 days of the incident.
Car Insurance Laws in Nevada
Nevada is an “at-fault” state when it comes to determining who is financially responsible for damages and injuries caused by a car accident. In other words, “no-fault” states require each party’s car insurance company to pay for damages and medical bills resulting from the crash no matter who was at fault. In Nevada, the opposite is true. The party found to be at fault will be held financially responsible. Nevada law mandates every driver carry a minimum of $15,000 in car insurance coverage per person for bodily injury or death, at least $30,000 per accident for injury or death, and a minimum of $10,000 for property damage. Those numbers are increasing to $25,000, $50,000, and $20,000, respectively, as of July 1, 2018.
Nevada Car Accident Settlements
In a Nevada car accident settlement, the injured victim agrees to give up his or her right to pursue any further legal action against the at-fault driver and his or her insurance company in relation to the accident in exchange for an agreed-upon amount of money. The willingness of each party to settle the matter as well as the amount offered and finally agreed upon will greatly depend on the evidence presented in the case.
When calculating the amount of a Nevada car accident settlement, many factors must be taken into account including the severity of the injuries, loss of past and future wages, medical expenses, and whether the victim was partly to blame for the crash. The deadline for filing a personal injury lawsuit relating to a Nevada car accident is two years from the date of the accident, and property damage claims have a deadline of three years. Failure to act within the statute of limitations may forever bar the claim.
Nevada Car Accident Lawyers
If you or someone you know has been involved in a Nevada car accident, there can be a lot at stake. This is particularly true because Nevada law allows a potential award to be wiped out completely if the victim was more at fault for the crash than the defendant. Contact the skilled and aggressive Nevada personal injury lawyers at Parry & Pfau today to learn about your rights and obligations under the law.
(image courtesy of Tanner van Dera)