Last week I wrote a post about who can be held liable for injuries and damages arising from drunk driving. In response, Dr. Jordan Webber, a friend and chiropractor with Core Rehab, reminded me of Nevada’s Victims of Crime Program, which is a fund available to victims of crime who meet certain criteria.
The fund was set up to compensate victims of violent crimes involving death physical injury or the threat thereof. Drunk driving is one of eight enumerated crimes that qualify (see the entire list here).
Other qualifying criteria include the following:
- The victim must be in the U.S. legally;
- The crime must have been reported to a law enforcement agency within 5 days of the crime (with certain exceptions);
- The application must be filled out and submitted within the first year after the crime (with certain exceptions);
- The victim must cooperate in the investigation and prosecution of the crime;
- The victim cannot have been involved in the commission of the crime; and
- The applicants have to cooperate in all other ways.
If you meet all of these criteria, you can qualify for up to $35,000 in aid.
Give us a call at 702-910-4300 if you have questions about your eligibility or if you have been the victim of a drunk driver and want to hold him or her accountable.
Zachariah B. Parry is an attorney and founding partner at the law firm Parry & Pfau and is an adjunct professor who teaches torts, contracts, and Nevada practice and procedure for UNLV’s paralegal program. He can be reached at 702-912-4451 or firstname.lastname@example.org.